Image

“Reasons for Hope” is the title of the lecture that Jane Goodall has given to millions of people on her travels around the globe and with which she captivates her listeners again and again: fascinating stories from her childhood and youth led her, in an almost magical way, to life with our closest relatives, the chimpanzees in the rainforest of Gombe.

And then came the shocking realization that these relatives are threatened with extinction! So, in 1986, she left her little paradise in Gombe to become an activist who now uses her fame and charisma not only to save the chimpanzees, but also to fight for the preservation of our environment.

The 85th birthday evening for and with “Dr Jane” is an opportunity for the audience to be inspired by this living icon and to understand her reasons for hope. As we know that Jane loves music we also have a present for her...






Image

The saxophonist Stephanie Lottermoser, the pianist Yojo Christen and the rock singer Ingo Pohlmann come from different musical worlds, but they are united in their enthusiasm for Jane and her commitment to planet Earth.


Stephanie Lottermoser
saxophonist / singer

“Jane Goodall is a role model in many ways. She has dedicated her whole life to a goal and lived by it, and that goal goes far beyond environmental and species protection (specifically chimpanzees). Her credo is about living a better and a more conscious life; it is about gratitude and modesty and about not taking everything for granted.

She inspires us to make a difference here and now without looking too far forward or back, and she proves through her courage that we can make a difference on our own and that we simply have to dare, and that we should remain true to ourselves.”

Stephanie Lottermoser



Yojo Christen
pianist / composer

“Jane Goodall impresses me most with her lifelong, untiring devotion to our immediate relatives, the chimpanzees. She stands up for their “human rights”. For me, art and humanity are two sides of the same coin. Just as Jane Goodall thinks about the psyche and living conditions of her protégés, we think about the necessity, meaning and effect of our artistic work, and I don’t see much difference in that.”

Yojo Christen



Ingo Pohlmann
singer / songwriter

“Jane Goodall creates movement in me.

Her motto seems to be: if the world ends tomorrow, I will still plant a tree today. At an age when many people have slowed down, I am deeply impressed by her strength to fight for and with humanity against the evil spirits that paralyze us.

Humans never stand still and on that journey Jane Goodall pioneers the side of us that connects heart and mind.

In short: she touches the best in us!”

Ingo Pohlmann


Image

Dirk Steffens will take us through the programme for the fourth time. In 2011, after first meeting Jane, he spontaneously agreed to become her honorary ambassador in Germany.

Dirk Steffens works as a freelance TV author, presenter, documentary filmmaker and producer for a number of different radio and television stations. Since 2005, he has also been in front of the camera and initially presented a weekly animal film series for VOX. In 2008, he joined ZDF presenting the documentary series “Terra X” and other programmes. For science, nature and travel projects, he has undertaken film expeditions to more than 120 countries on every continent. He is an experienced diver and underwater filmmaker.
Dirk Steffens is a German ambassador for the environmental organization WWF and the German division of the Jane Goodall Institute. In the field of environmental education, he is active nationwide as a lecturer. Since June 2015, he has also been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Senckenberg Society for Nature Research. In September 2016, the Federal Minister for the Environment, Barbara Hendricks, appointed him official “UN Decade Ambassador for Biodiversity”.

In December 2017, Dirk Steffens and his wife founded the BIODIVERSITY FOUNDATION. The Foundation has set itself the task of providing information on the causes and dangers of species extinction worldwide.

Find out more

Jane Goodall – the living legend, ethologist, environmental activist, UN Messenger of Peace and probably the most famous scientist of our time – is celebrating her 85th birthday. The Jane Goodall Institut Deutschland is organizing a big evening event on Friday 21 June, at the Showpalast Munich. Don’t miss it!

Proceeds from the event will go to the Jane Goodall Institut Deutschland and its projects.


Get your tickets now!

Copyright Jane Goodall photos: Michael Neugebauer, Vincent Calmel, Chase Pickering, Rotary International, The Jane Goodall Institute

Image

„Reasons for Hope“ ist der Titel des Vortrags, den Jane Goodall auf ihren Reisen rund um den Globus vor Millionen von Menschen gehalten hat und mit dem sie ihre Zuhörer immer aufs Neue in den Bann zieht: Es sind  faszinierende Geschichten aus ihrer Kindheit und Jugend, die sie auf beinahe magische Weise zum Leben mit unseren nächsten Verwandten, den Schimpansen im Regenwald von Gombe, geführt haben.

Und dann: Die schockierende Erkenntnis, dass diese Verwandten vom Aussterben bedroht sind! Deshalb verlässt sie 1986 ihr kleines Paradies in Gombe und wird zur Aktivistin, die ihren Weltruhm und ihr unvergleichliches Charisma einsetzt –nicht nur für die Rettung der Schimpansen, sondern auch für den Erhalt unserer Umwelt.

Natürlich wollen wir mit unserem Abend zum 85. Geburtstag für und mit „Dr. Jane“ den Zuhörern die Möglichkeit geben, sich von dieser lebenden Ikone inspirieren und von ihren Gründen zur Hoffnung anstecken zu lassen – aber wir wollen Jane zugleich auch Freude bereiten, denn wir wissen, wie sehr sie Musik liebt…






Image

Die Saxophonistin Stephanie Lottermoser, der Pianist Yojo Christen und der Rock-Sänger Ingo Pohlmann kommen musikalisch aus ganz unterschiedlichen Welten, aber sie vereint die Begeisterung für Jane und ihren Einsatz für den Planeten Erde.


Stephanie Lottermoser
Saxophon / Vocals

"Jane Goodall ist ein Vorbild in so vielen Bereichen. Sie hat ihr ganzes Leben einem Ziel gewidmet und danach gelebt und das geht weit über den Umwelt- und Artenschutz (insbesondere der Schimpansen) hinaus. Es geht ihr um ein besseres Miteinander und ein bewussteres Leben, um Dankbarkeit und Bescheidenheit und darum, nicht alles Gegebene als selbstverständlich zu nehmen.

Sie inspiriert dazu im hier und jetzt etwas zu bewegen ohne zu weit nach vorne oder zurück zu blicken und sie beweist durch ihren Mut, dass man auch allein etwas bewegen kann und sich einfach nur trauen und sich treu bleiben muss.“

Stephanie Lottermoser



Yojo Christen
Pianist / Komponist

"Jane Goodall beeindruckt mich am meisten durch ihre lebenslange unermüdliche Zuwendung, die sie unseren unmittelbaren Verwandten, den Schimpansen zukommen lässt. Auch für deren individuelle "Menschenrechte" setzt sie sich bis heute ein. Kunst und Humanität sind für mich zwei Seiten einer Medaille. So wie Jane Goodall über Psyche und Lebensbedingungen ihrer Schützlinge nachdenkt, denken wir über Notwendigkeit, Sinn und Wirkung unseres künstlerischen Tuns nach und darin finde ich gar nicht so viel Unterschied."

Yojo Christen



Ingo Pohlmann
Singer / Songwriter

„Jane Goodall schafft Bewegung in mir.

Wenn morgen die Welt untergeht, pflanze ich heute noch einen Baum, scheint ihre Devise zu sein. In ihrem Alter diese Kraft aufzubringen und für uns und mit uns gegen die bösen Geister zu kämpfen, die uns lähmen, das beeindruckt mich zu tiefst.

Der Mensch ist immer auf dem Weg und Jane Goodall ist eine Wegbereiterin für die Seite des Menschen, die Herz und Verstand verbindet.

Das ist die beste Seite, die sie in uns rührt!“

Ingo Pohlmann


Image

Durch das Programm führt nun schon zum vierten Mal Dirk Steffens, der sich 2011, nach seiner ersten Begegnung mit Jane, spontan bereit erklärte, ihr Ehrenbotschafter in Deutschland zu werden.

Dirk Steffens arbeitet als freier TV-Autor, Moderator, Dokumentarfilmer und Produzent für verschiedene Hörfunk- und Fernsehsender. Seit 2005 steht er auch vor der Kamera und präsentierte zunächst bei VOX eine wöchentliche Tierfilmreihe. Im Jahr 2008 wechselte er als Moderator des Dokumentations-Formates Terra X sowie weiterer Sendungen zum ZDF. Für Wissenschafts-, Natur- und Reiseformate unternahm er in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten Film-Expeditionen in mehr als 120 Länder auf allen Kontinenten. Er ist außerdem ein erfahrener Taucher und Unterwasserfilmer.

Dirk Steffens engagiert sich als Deutschland-Botschafter für die Umweltorganisation WWF und die deutsche Sektion des Jane-Goodall-Institutes. Im Bereich der Umweltbildung ist er als Vortragsredner bundesweit aktiv. Seit Juni 2015 ist er außerdem Mitglied im Kuratorium der Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung. Im September 2016 berief Bundesumweltministerin Hendricks ihn zum offiziellen „UN-Dekade-Botschafter für biologische Vielfalt“.

Im Dezember 2017 gründete Dirk Steffens zusammen mit seiner Frau die BIODIVERSITY FOUNDATION. Die Stiftung hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, über die Ursachen und Gefahren des globalen Artensterbens zu informieren.

Mehr erfahren

Jane Goodall, die lebende Legende, Primatenforscherin, Umweltaktivistin, UN Friedensbotschafterin und die wahrscheinlich berühmteste Wissenschaftlerin unserer Zeit feiert ihren 85. Geburtstag. Aus Anlass ihres besonderen Ehrentages veranstaltet das Jane Goodall Institut Deutschland eine große Abendveranstaltung am Freitag den 21. Juni im Showpalast München. Seien Sie dabei!

Der Vortrag von Jane Goodall wird in gut verständlichem Englisch gehalten.

Der Erlös aus der Veranstaltung kommt dem Jane Goodall Institut Deutschland und seinen Projekten zugute.


Jetzt Tickets sichern

Copyright photos Jane Goodall: Michael Neugebauer, Vincent Calmel, Chase Pickering, Rotary International, The Jane Goodall Institute